When East Meets West – Co-production Forum January 20/22, 2014 Trieste

WHEN EAST MEETS WEST is a co-production forum designed to bring together decision makers, financiers and 20 selected producers with one project in development from Eastern Europe*, Italy and – only for the 2014 editionBenelux: Belgium, Luxembourg and The Netherlands. The forum includes a public pitching, a series of one-to-one meetings, and a framework programme with panels/case studies on the financing and distribution conditions in the region in focus.


Projects should be feature films for theatrical release or TV documentaries in development stage suitable for international coproduction. WEMW 2014 will select projects from Eastern Europe (preferably with a connection either with Italy or Benelux), Italy (preferably with a connection either with Benelux or Eastern Europe) and Benelux (preferably with a connection either with Italy or Eastern Europe).


All applications must include:

  • complete application form in word format (you can download it on
  • approx. 5 – 8 page treatment / exposé in English
  • financing plan
  • including visual material (teaser of the project/clips of previous works of the director) is recommended

All documents must be sent via email within November 8, 2013 to


The WEMW international selection committee will evaluate the potential of the treatment, international dimension of the project, producer CV and company track record. Selected projects will be announced in early December and producers will be offered accreditation, travel scholarship and accommodation in Trieste. All selected projects/producers will compete for the WEMW Development Award and for EAVE European Producers Workshop 2014 scholarship.

If you wish to have further information please have a look at:

WEMW is organized by the FVG AUDIOVISUAL FUND, together with the TRIESTE FILM FESTIVAL, in collaboration with EAVE, EURIMAGES, Antenna MEDIA Torino, Maia workshops and with the support of the MEDIA Programme, MiBAC – Direzione Cinema, CEI (Central European Initiative) and Autonomous Region FVG. The 2014 focus on Benelux will be in partnership with MEDIA Desk België, MEDIA Desk Belgique-Communauté française, MEDIA Desk Luxembourg and MEDIA Desk Nederland.


* Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, Ukraine

Share this content on
Subscribe to our RSS Feed